Expand access to water and sanitation services by mobilizing the private sector

What we propose: to accompany local authorities (municipalities, regions...) in the delegation of the service to local operators, with the aim of achieving better technical and financial performances (service to marginal districts, cost recovery, improvement of the quality of the service). Where these operators belong to the private sector, BCC participates in the elaboration of PPP or PSP adapted to the specific needs of the local authorities.

An oil change truck in Ndjamena

Some applications of this approach:

In the working-class neighborhoods of large cities in the South, the majority of households are not connected to public water and sanitation systems. Do they die of thirst? No, because small local private companies provide these services. The World Bank asked Bernard Collignon to reconstruct the business model of these SMEs in 10 African capitals and to evaluate their clientele and performance.

In Gaza (Palestine), groundwater is brackish. Bernard Collignon evaluated for AFD the clientele, performance and potential of private operators who install reverse osmosis desalination units to supply households with fresh water.

In the DRC, REGIDESO provides the public water service in very large cities in a difficult context, while leaving a large autonomy to its local branches. The PPIAF (World Bank group) asked Bernard Collignon and Hydroconseil to evaluate the feasibility of various PPP options to improve water distribution in the capital of Katanga (Lubumbashi) 

What others do better: engineering large dams
and large water treatment plants
Photo: Wastewater treatment plant

Généraliser l’accès aux services d’eau et d’assainissement en mobilisant le secteur privé

Ce que nous proposons : accompagner les collectivités locales (communes, régions…) dans la délégation du service à des opérateurs locaux, dans le but d’atteindre de meilleures performances techniques et financières (desserte des quartiers marginaux, recouvrement des coûts, amélioration de la qualité du service). Là où ces opérateurs appartiennent au secteur privé, BCC participe à l’élaboration de PPP ou de PSP adapté aux besoins spécifiques des collectivités locales.

Un camion vidange a Ndjamena

Quelques applications de cette démarche :

Dans les quartiers populaires des grandes villes du Sud, la majorité des ménages ne sont pas raccordés aux réseaux publics d’eau et d’assainissement. Meurent-ils pour autant de soif ? Non, parce que de petites entreprises privées locales leur fournissent ces services. La Banque Mondiale a demandé à Bernard Collignon de reconstituer le business model de ces PMEs dans 10 capitales africaines et d’évaluer leur clientèle et leurs performances

A Gaza (Palestine), les eaux souterraines sont saumâtres. Bernard Collignon y a évalué pour le compte de l’AFD la clientèle, les performances et le potentiel des opérateurs privés qui installent des unités de dessalement par osmose inverse pour alimenter les ménages en eau douce

En RDC, la REGIDESO assure dans un contexte difficile le service public de l’eau dans les très grandes villes, tout en laissant une large autonomie à ses branches locales. Le PPIAF (groupe de la Banque Mondiale) a demandé à Bernard Collignon et Hydroconseil d’évaluer la faisabilité de diverses options de PPP pour améliorer la distribution d’eau dans la capitale du Katanga (Lubumbashi) 

Ce que d’autres font mieux que nous : l’ingénierie des grands barrages
et des grandes stations de traitement des eaux
Photo : Station d’épuration