Bottom billion

Water and wastewater services engineering consultancy.

State-based development approaches are inefficient. Local governance mechanisms, including partnerships with small businesses (even informal ones), are essential for poverty reduction.

Maputo slum

40 years of expertise
Who are we?
We are a consulting firm, very experienced in the engineering of water and sanitation services. and sanitation services. For the past 40 years, our experts have travelled to countries in Africa, Asia and the Middle East Middle East to put their expertise at the service of vulnerable populations.
Our philosophy
We want to contribute to the fight against poverty by improving access to basic public services (water, sanitation, garbage collection, electricity) for the most disadvantaged populations. to basic public services (water, sanitation, garbage collection, electricity).

Bernard Collignon

Doctor in hydrogeology, Bernard Collignon has more than thirty years of experience in water supply projects in developing countries.

He worked successively for the Algerian government, for an NGO and as an independent expert, before creating the consulting firms Hydroconseil and Urbaconsulting.

He is a recognized expert in the modernization of public enterprises in the water sector and in the promotion of local SMEs, including those in the informal sector that play a central role in supplying marginal populations.

Fire hydrant and cart driver in Ouagadougou

completed projects
0
drillings
0
water supplies
0
of people
supplied with water
0 millions
African, Asian, Middle Eastern and Latin American countries
0

Water fountain in Nepal

Our jobs

Our projects

Our news

March 2023 - Hydrogeological study of the Jabal Sayid mine site in Saudi Arabia

Bottombillion finalized for SOFRECO the hydrogeological study of this mining prospect located in the middle of the desert. Several different techniques were combined (slug tests, logging, pumping tests, piezometric map, land tide monitoring...) in order to identify and characterize the groundwater resources (in quantity and quality).

February 2023 - Technical assistance to the municipality of Yatta (Palestine) for the modernization of its water service

Yatta is a secondary city in the West Bank (90,000 inhabitants), which escapes the Israeli occupation. Bottombillion was recruited by Hydroconseil to provide institutional and organizational expertise to the municipality, in support of the transformation of the municipal service into an autonomous water syndicate, which will encompass Yatta and neighboring municipalities. This technical assistance is financed by the Dutch Cooperation, through UNICEF.

January 2023 - Impact assessment of a new mining project on groundwater in Saudi Arabia

Bottombillion was recruited by SOFRECO to conduct hydrogeological investigations (watertable mapping, wireline logging, slug tests, pumping tests) for the Ghurrayyah mining project. The aim is to evaluate the water resources, the dewatering needs for the exploitation of a future mine and the potential risks for the environment

December 2022 - Groundwater for sustainable livehoods and equitable growth

The International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH) has just published a synthesis book on the decisive contribution of groundwater to access to water for the world's poorest populations (https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/edit/10.1201/9781003024101). In this book, Bernard Collignon, Cédric Estienne and Ibrahim Nassour have written a chapter on the water supply of localities in the Lake Chad region thanks to shallow wells.

November 2022 - Definition study of the national development program for regional water companies (NSPIP)

Bottombillion was recruited by PWA (the Palestinian Ministry of Water) to define the implementation modalities of a national program to support municipalities in setting up regional water companies.

November 2022 - Teaching in the Master Edev (University of Montpellier 3)

Within the framework of the ADEV Master's program, Bernard Collignon has taught the "Cities and Metropolitization" course. These courses focus on the demand and supply of networked public services in slums.

Bottom billion

Bureau d’études en ingénierie des services d’eau et d’assainissement.

Les démarches de développement basées sur le tout Etat sont peu efficientes. Les mécanismes de gouvernance locale, y compris le partenariat avec les petites entreprises (même informelles), sont essentiels pour la lutte contre la pauvreté.

Bidonville de Maputo

40 ans d'expertise
Qui sommes-nous ?
Nous sommes un bureau d’études, très expérimenté dans l’ingénierie des services d’eau et d’assainissement. Depuis 40 ans, nos experts parcourent les pays d’Afrique, d’Asie et du Moyen Orient pour mettre leur expertise au service des populations vulnérables.
Notre philosophie
Nous voulons contribuer à la lutte contre la pauvreté, en améliorant l’accès des populations les plus démunies aux services publics de base (eau, assainissement, collecte des ordures, électricité).

Bernard Collignon

Docteur en hydrogéologie, Bernard Collignon a une expérience de plus de trente ans dans les projets d’approvisionnement en eau dans les pays en développement.

Il a travaillé successivement pour le gouvernement algérien, pour une ONG et comme expert indépendant, avant de créer les bureaux d’études Hydroconseil et Urbaconsulting.

Il est un expert reconnu dans la modernisation des entreprises publiques du secteur de l’eau et dans  la promotion des PME locales, y compris celles qui sont dans le secteur informel et qui jouent un rôle central dans l’approvisionnement des populations marginales.

Borne-fontaine et charretier à Ouagadougou

0
projets réalisés
0
forages
0
adductions d’eau
0 millions
de personnes
approvisionnées en eau
0
pays d’Afrique, d’Asie,
du Moyen Orient et d' Amérique Latine

Fontaine d’eau au Népal

Nos métiers

Nos projets

Nos actualités

Mars 2023 – Etude hydrogéologique du site minier de Jabal Sayid en Arabie Saoudite

Bottombillion a finalisé pour le compte de SOFRECO l’étude hydrogéologique de ce prospect minier situé en plein désert. Plusieurs techniques différentes ont été combinées (slug tests, diagraphies, essais par pompage, carte piézométrique, suivi des marées terrestres…) afin de pouvoir identifier et caractériser les ressources en eaux souterraines (en quantité et en qualité).

Février 2023 – Assistance technique à la municipalité de Yatta (Palestine) pour la modernisation de son service des eaux

Yatta est une ville secondaire de Cisjordanie (90 000 habitants), qui échappe à l’occupation israélienne. Bottombillion a été recruté par Hydroconseil pour fournir une expertise institutionnelle et organisationnelle à la municipalité, en soutien à la transformation du service municipal en un syndicat autonome de l’eau, qui englobera Yatta et les municipalités voisines. Cette assistance technique est financée par la coopération hollandaise, au travers de l’UNICEF.

Janvier 2023 – Etude d’impact d’un nouveau projet minier sur les eaux souterraines en Arabie Saoudite

Bottombillion a été recruté par SOFRECO pour conduire les investigations hydrogéologiques (watertable mapping, wireline logging, slug tests, pumping tests) dans le cadre du projet minier de Ghurrayyah. Il s’agit d’évaluer les ressources en eaux, les besoins en exhaure pour l’exploitation d’une future mine et les risques potentiels pour l’environnement

Décembre 2022 – Groundwater for sustainable livehoods and equitable growth

L’IAH (International Association of Hydrogeologists) vient de publier un ouvrage de synthèse sur la contribution décisive des eaux souterraines à l’accès à l’eau pour les populations les plus pauvres du monde (https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/edit/10.1201/9781003024101). Dans cet ouvrage, Bernard Collignon, Cédric Estienne et Ibrahim Nassour ont rédigé un chapitre sur l’alimentation en eau des localités de la région du Lac Tchad grâce à des forages de faible profondeur.

Novembre 2022 – Etude de définition du programme national de développement des compagnies régionales des eaux (NSPIP)

Bottombillion a été recruté par PWA (le ministère palestinien de l’eau) pour définir les modalités de mise en œuvre d’un programme national d’appui aux communes pour mettre en place des compagnies régionales de l’eau.

Novembre 2022 – Enseignement dans le cadre du Master Edev (Université de Montpellier 3)

Dans le cadre du Master ADEV,  Bernard Collignon a assuré les cours « Villes et métropolitisation ». Ces cours portent plus particulièrement sur la demande et l’offre en services publics en réseau dans les bidonvilles.